Session S3b (Monday, 9:30am, Paterno 104)

P121: Implementation of the Morrill Act in New Hampshsire

Paul Jones (University of Michigan, USA)

With the passing of the land-grant bill (The Morrill Act) by the U.S. Congress in 1862, the New Hampshire legislature responded quickly in 1866 with the approval of an enabling act.  By 1868 the New Hampshire College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts had been organized and was led by a chemist, Ezekial Dimond. Chemistry instruction, a strong component of the program from the outset, included the requirement of original research. The first bachelor’s theses were written in 1893; master’s theses appeared by 1906; and the first Ph.D.s in chemistry were granted in 1958.  Originally located in Hanover on the Dartmouth College campus, the institution was moved to Durham in 1893 and became the University of New Hampshrie in 1923.


A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.